The outpost of Sesfontein marks the northern border of Damaraland. In 1896 a devastating plague of rinderpest broke out which resulted in the deaths of thousands of cattle, nearly all of the Himba’s stock were lost. In 1901 the German colonial troops built a small fort in order to manage the movement of cattle through the area in an effort to prevent a reoccurrence of the disease, however the fort was abandoned with the dawning of WWI. Many years later, the rundown fort was refurbished into a lodge to accommodate passersby. The name refers to the springs found nearby and the area offers vast and starkly beautiful scenery with the western parts of Kaokoland beckoning. The town boasts a school, filling station and a small shop.